YICTE QLD 2014 Winners

By August 21, 2014 News No Comments

Congratulations to all the students that participated in the Queensland 2014 Young ICT Explorers. The diversity and complexity of the projects was incredible and the future’s looking bright for innovation in Queensland’s tech sector! Below is a list of schools and projects that received awards on the day.

Years 4 – 5

  • 1st Place: St Columba’s School with The Global Farmer’s Friend (FF) (by Atlas Mark1 by Dominic Cleary, Noah Fenech, James Rush)
  • 2nd Place: Good News Lutheran School with Ready Set Read (by Holly McGuigan)
  • 3rd Place: Ironside State School with Electrified (by Lara Owen, Ella Mornement and Shanissa Janamian)
  • Merit: Ironside State School with Safety in the House (by Zhengde Fang, Amitai Rosenbaum)

Years 6 – 7

  • 1st Place: Milton State School with Naplancraft (by Elliot Alexander, Darcy Border, Joseph Zhang)
  • 2nd Place: Elanora State School with Go Home (by Andrew Phillips, Aaron Gannaway, Josh Mitchell, Billy Burdett)
  • 3rd Place: Good News Lutheran School with Light it Up (by Jessica Parcell, Zara Woodham, Derryn Nel)
  • Merit: Rivermount College with Ultimate Checklist (by Charles Delaforce, Lily Kearney, Jemma Pettifer, Isabella Foley)

Years 8 – 9

  • 1st Place: Kenmore State High School with Tricorder (by Michael Schulz)
  • 2nd Place: St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School with ICTinMe 2 (by Brynlea Gibson)
  • 3rd Place: Mansfield State High School with Tic Tac Toe in Python (by Matthew Docherty)
  • Merit: Anglican Church Grammar School with Rebel Block (by  James Dyer)

Years 10 -12

  • 1st Place: Brisbane Girls Grammar School with Girls for Girls web app (by Ashley McGregor)
  • 2nd Place: Queensland Academy for Science, Mathmatics and Technology with GigCove – music gig discovery (by Liam Edwards-Playne)
  • 3rd Place: Brisbane State High School with PLATY (by Matthew Ryan)
  • Merit: Villanova College with Touchless 3D Motion Tracker (by Daniel Ju, Jonathan Vukim, Jason Hang)

Student Choice Award:

  • Good News Lutheran School with Stop Cyberbullies! by Lydia McMah and Charlie Stock