YICTE Sydney 2015 winners

By August 17, 2015 News No Comments

Young ICT Explorers NSW is a wrap. This year the event moved to its new location in Australian Technology Park – a former train repair yard and now home to some of Australia’s great startups and technology innovators. In total, 84 projects were presented by 181 students from 28 schools.

One of the most impressive things about the student projects in NSW was the way the students used technology to solve real-world issues. Some great projects we saw included a GPS tracker to find the location of lost hearing devices; an automated system for watering plants; and a simulation of blood flows and veins to prevent blood clots.

This year we were honoured by the surprise guest appearance from Adam Spencer, a radio presenter, comedian and media personality with a knack for inspiring through mathematics and technology. We heard from Sarah Fletcher on her journey as a designer of surf skis at BOS Ocean Sport. We would also like to recognise Adam Greenwich, NSW MP and presenter of our student choice award, for his ongoing interest and support for ensuring technology is taught in schools across NSW.

Special thanks to the University of NSW and ATP for helping bring this event to life.

And now to the prizes…

Year 3 – 4
1st Place: Arden Anglican School with SAFECROSS Driveway Warning (by Jessica Clark, Tyler Jackson and Rachel Gibson)
2nd Place: CPS with Robo-Turtle (by Jasmin, Joanne and Sameera)
3rd Place Equal: Newington College with Sea Pollution (by Ryan Ng and Oscar Roche)
3rd Place Equal: Wahroonga Public School with The Great Musical Arduino (by Sequoia Avtarovksi)
Merit: Newington College with PYP Attitudes (Benji MacDonald and Justin Gao)
Merit: Newington College with CycleRules (by James Blakeman)

Year 5 – 6: Group 1
1st Place: SHEN and MLC School with Modelling Heart Disease (by Kaya Dahlke and Sophie Ogilvy)
2nd Place Equal: Roseville College with Track Your Hearing (by Bella Ryan)
2nd Place Equal: Newington College, Wyvern House with Net Detective – A Visual Novel (by Luke Canter)
3rd Place: Wahroonga Public School with Programming through Minecraft Modding (by Dawson Wang, Jasper Avtarovski, Massimo Salerno and Aidan Hunter)
Merit: Loreto Kirribilli with Disurf-disabled surfing: Live in Your World, Surf in Ours (by Sarah Ivanhoe and Elizabeth Cullen)

Year 5 – 6: Group 2
1st Place: Roseville College with Always Close Pi (by Sophie Allen and April Draney)
2nd Place: Newington College with AirCos (by Owen Ng, Seb Grehan and Caleb Strawbridge)
3rd Place Equal: Wahroonga Public School with Goal Keeper (by Thilara de Mel)
3rd Place Equal: Roseville College with Sushi Train Timer (by Rachel Barrie, Stella Phipson and Isabella Savage)
Merit: Newington College with Road Kill (by Ned Greenwell, Lachlan Green and James Davison)

Year 7 – 8
1st Place: International Grammar School with Plants vs Zombies (by Maya Braun and Max Meyer)
2nd Place: Mosman High School with Periodic Survival (by Declan Predavec, Jac Mathot, Finbar Walker and Alex Songeon-Senzaki)
3rd Place: Mosman High School, North Sydney Girls High School and Sydney Boys High School with Bin I.T! (by Declan Predavec, Nicholas Palmer and Nikita Pussell)

Year 9 – 10
1st Place: Mosman High School with When That (by Callum Predavec)
2nd Place Equal: St Philip’s Christian College with Barracks Cafe – Mobile Ordering App (by Tristan Oswald and Nicholas Wright)
2nd Place Equal: De La Salle College, Revesby Heights with theLink (by Victor Tran and Gian Piero Pernice)
3rd Place Equal: Bede Polding College with Dream Keepers (by Anthony Vella)
3rd Place Equal: De La Salle College, Revesby Heights with The Fox (by Kyle Stewart and Rhys Pryde)
Merit: North Sydney Boys High School with Designed Keyboard for Person with One Hand (by Nicholas Tse, Victor Bian and Max Mikkelsen)

Year 11 – 12
1st Place: Chatswood High School with School Bytes: E-Learning Platform (by Blake Garrett)
2nd Place: St Philip’s Christian College with Make It Rain (by Matthew Turner and Jayden Le)
3rd Place Equal: St Philip’s Christian College with Network Household Controller (by Hayden Glover and Dean Smallwood)
3rd Place Equal: Macarthur Anglican School with Drive – A Game That Raises Awareness About Drunk Driving (by Mitchell Robinson)
Merit: Oxford Falls Grammar School with Transition Magazine (by Henry Cousins)

Student Choice
Loretto Kirribilli with Healthy Lifestyles (by Charlotte Damian, Emily Gocher and Nell Kozub)