NSW Young ICT Explorers 2014 winners!

By August 21, 2014 News No Comments

Congratulations to the Young ICT Explorers winners for NSW 2014. Held at the University of New South Wales – the day was jam packed with energy and excitement. The teams of judges had a hard time deciding who to award this as this year’s winners but ultimately it came down to how well the student groups had applied technology to a problem they were trying to solve. Once again – well done to everyone involved. Below is a list of this year’s recognised projects:

Years 3 – 4

  • 1st Place Equal: Newington College with Pandemics and Pestilence (by Luke Canter)
  • 1st Place Equal: Wahroonga Public School with The Raspberry Pi Guys (by Finn Rees, Jasper Avtarovski, Lachlan Hunt, Henry Pallister)
  • 2nd Place: Newington College with Help us Save the Animals (by Daniel Martin, Cooper Stuart, Cameron Davey-Webb)
  • 3rd Equal: St Mel’s Primary School with The Effects Of Cyber Bullying (by Sonal Kamble, Tiana Rodarellis)
  • 3rd Equal: Newington College with Save the Turtles (by Roscoe Pilcher, Ryan Fairbank)
  • Merit: Wahroonga Public School with SchoolView (by Matthew de Meyrick, Alex Howard, Lauren Solness)

Years 5 – 6

  • 1st Equal: Neutral Bay Public School with BIN I.T. (by Declan Predavec, Nicolas Palmer, Nikita Pussell)
  • 1st Equal: Wahroonga Public School with The Electronic Mate (by Aditya Bansal)
  • 2nd Equal: Roseville College with Automatic Door Opener (by Jemma Woldhuis)
  • 2nd Equal: Newington College with Wyvern App (by Luke Waked)
  • 3rd Place: Newington College with Food Wastage (by Samuel Gresham, Ethan Nemeth, Matthew Gamble)
  • Merit: Roseville College with A Fairy Is Born (by Sophie Allen)

Years 7 – 8

  • 1st Place: Mosman High School with Car Share Space Monitor (by Callum Predavec)
  • 2nd Place: Northern Beaches Christian School with WeHub – Solar Bluetooth Weather Station (by Flynn Tesoriero, Jarrah Turner)
  • 3rd Place: Roseville College with Rose Books (by Olivia Okely, Kirsten Love, Abigail Montgomery)
  • Merit: Abbotsleigh with Project Unlocked (by Emma Edwards, Rebecca Whittle, Kaytlyn Williams)

Years 9 – 10

  • 1st Place: Manly Selective with Digital Merit System (by Dennis Gann, Harrison Scott, Daniel Kimber)
  • 2nd Place: De La Salle College with The Web (by Victor Tran, Aidan Nelson, Gian Piero Pernice)
  • 3rd Equal: Fairvale High School with Emeralds Tomb Game (by Tin Nuygen, Andrew Rutherford)
  • 3rd Equal: Abbotsleigh with Don’t Judge an Apple by its Colour (by Harini Lakshminarayanan)
  • Merit: Coffs Harbour High School with PACE (Prosthetic Arm Controlled by Eeg) (by Luke Croak, Joshua Sechi, Patrick O’Gorman, Peter Mckenzie)

Years 11 – 12

  • 1st Place: Chatswood High School with Reverie (by Elijah Su’a-huirua)
  • 2nd Place: Macarthur Anglican School with Classroom Allstars iPad App (by Andre Pearce)
  • 3rd Place: Knox Grammar School with Arduino Automated Door Lock (by Daniel Schofield)
  • Merit: Kanahooka High School with Devils Down Under (by Joel Hudson, Aaron Gentle, Matthew Moukaddem, Ethan Marsland)

Overall Student Choice

  • Coffs Harbour High School with PACE (Prosthetic Arm Controlled by Eeg) (by Luke Croak, Joshua Sechi, Patrick O’Gorman, Peter Mckenzie)